Pinterest Keyword Research 101

The Key to Get Traffic from Pinterest

In partnership with

To get traffic from Pinterest you need to find keywords that people are searching for and you can rank pins on those.

For some keywords, you can rank pins easily but those keywords don’t have searches. You need to be careful while selecting keywords.

In this email, I’ll share how I’m doing keyword research for my websites. But before that let me introduce you to today’s sponsor.

The Daily Newsletter for Intellectually Curious Readers

  • We scour 100+ sources daily

  • Read by CEOs, scientists, business owners and more

  • 3.5 million subscribers

Pinterest Keyword Research:

Pinterest Trend is the best tool to find keywords that can get you traffic quickly.

To find keywords go to trends.pinterest.com and from interest select your niche.

Such as if your niche is food and drinks, select that as you can see in the image.

Then sort by “Weekly Change” from high percentage to low. Analyze each keyword one by one.

Suppose you want to check the “Pumpkin Desserts” keyword, search that on Pinterest, and analyze.

To analyze the ranking pins, install the sortpin extension. It will show you the no of saves, likes, and when the pin was published.

If I see fresh pins ranking, as you can see in the image, that has good engagement I go for that keyword.

What If You Find General Topics in Trends?

We’ve selected food niche as an example today, so, if you see “fall food” in the trends.

We don't have a clear idea of what the user is searching for, it can be fall soup recipes, fall comfort foods, etc.

To understand what the user is looking for or to find relevant keywords click on that term in trends. It will take you to the next tab.

Here you can see “fall dinner ideas” and “fall comfort food”. You can write articles on these keywords.

You can also search that topic on Pinterest and look for more keywords. Such as in the image you can see the “fall soup recipes” pin ranking. So, this keyword can also be good.

Pinterest Keyword Research Tools

Some of you asked about Pinterest keyword research tools, whether worth buying or not. Till today, I’ve not found any tool worth buying.

I’ve seen people promoting their tools as if you’ll buy your traffic will skyrocket.

All of these are giving the same things you can find in the Pinterest trends, they’ve just changed the terms and a few things here and there to make you fool.

I won’t recommend buying any keyword research tool right now, but maybe in the future if I find a good one. I’ll share that with you.

What’s Next?

The next email will be about how I write content for my Pinterest sites. I’ll share different methods to find images & use them to write articles.

Want to skyrocket your Pinterest traffic? Check our services at niche bloggers.

You’ll get emails every Tuesday and Friday at 7 PM (GMT +5). I’m sending this today because I didn’t send the last Friday. From the next time, I’ll follow the time I mentioned.

Thanks for reading!

Zeeshan