How To Recover Pinterest Traffic?

Tips Based on Personal Experiences

In partnership with

On one of our Pinterest accounts, I’ve noticed a 50% drop in impressions and clicks on 15th September.

I researched to figure out what’s going on with Pinterest. I’ve found a few things that I think are the reason for this. Don’t skip the 3rd one.

Before diving into these, let me introduce you to today’s sponsor.

The Daily Newsletter for Intellectually Curious Readers

  • We scour 100+ sources daily

  • Read by CEOs, scientists, business owners and more

  • 3.5 million subscribers

How Our Pinterest Traffic Recovered?

1. Pin Formats

One of the first things I noticed is that Pinterest has started showing different pin formats in search results.

Previously, I saw they were showing only one size and design of pins. So, I realized sticking to one format or size won’t be good.

You can see in the image how they’re showing different sizes and design pins. So, for the same article, now I should publish different sizes and format pins.

This will increase the chances of pins becoming more visible in the search results.

2. Pins without URL

I always published pins with URLs to my blog, so that I can get maximum traffic.

I thought this could also be problematic so I started publishing pins without URLs, especially the video pins.

These pins are helping in getting followers, more reach, and building trust with Pinterest.

3. Paid Ads

I think running ads is the number one reason for our traffic recovery. I’ve heard somewhere not sure where that ad can increase organic reach.

So, we tried ads for already published pins and set the budget of $1/day.

To my surprise, it worked! After just one week of running the ads, I began to see an improvement in organic performance.

It appears that the Pinterest algorithm favors accounts that are running ads.

4. Alt Text

I’ve recently watched the Niche Pursuits podcast where Tony Hill explained the importance of the alt text.

It helps Pinterest to understand what your pin is about. I wasn’t adding to my pins so I’ve also started doing that.

What’s Next?

The next email will be about Pinterest keyword research. I’ll share different methods I’m using to find keywords that can bring thousands of outbound clicks.

Want to skyrocket your Pinterest traffic? Check our services at niche bloggers.

Thanks for reading!

Zeeshan

The newsletter is sent every Tuesday and Friday at 7 PM (GMT+5)